Nintendo Announces The SNES Classic

Rumors about the system have been swirling for some time, but Nintendo announced today that the SNES Classic is, indeed, real. The console will be launching on September 29th with a total of 21 games that are seemingly headlined by the “never-before-released” rail shooter Star Fox 2, which many have already played due to the fact that an unfinished version of the game leaked onto the internet ages ago.

The full SNES Classic lineup is as follows:

  • Contra III: The Alien Wars
  • Donkey Kong Country
  • EarthBound
  • F-Zero
  • Final Fantasy III
  • Kirby Super Star
  • Kirby’s Dream Course
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  • Mega Man X
  • Secret of Mana
  • Star Fox
  • Star Fox 2
  • Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting
  • Super Castlevania IV
  • Super Ghouls ‘n Ghosts
  • Super Mario Kart
  • Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
  • Super Mario World
  • Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island
  • Super Metroid
  • Super Punch-Out

It truly is a great lineup, albeit a significantly smaller lineup than the NES Classic’s, which helps to offset the fact that it will cost $79.99, $20 more than the NES Classic did at launch. It is unknown at this time whether hackers will be able to create a way to install more games on the system, as they did with the NES Classic, or if Nintendo has gone out of its way to make sure that that won’t be possible with the SNES Classic.

You can read more about the SNES Classic on the official website.

Matt Chelen

Matt has been playing games for as long as he can remember. He got into games journalism during college.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *